Text Size

Our Researchers

The Glaucoma Research Society of Canada has supported numerous Canadian university-based researchers who have gained international respect and reputations in advancing research into glaucoma and who have published articles in distinguished peer-reviewed journals.

Researchers Michael Duong and Dr. Alexander Ball

Researchers Michael Duong and Dr. Alexander Ball
present the results of GRSC research at 2009 ARVO meeting in May.

Our researchers include:

Dr. Neeru Gupta is Professor, Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology, University of Toronto; Director, Glaucoma & Nerve Protection Unit, The Keenan Research Centre, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael’s Hospital.

Dr. Cindy Hutnik is Professor, Departments of Ophthalmology & Pathology, University of Western Ontario; Adjunct Professor, Departmentt of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of Windsor; Associate Scientist, Centre for Clinical Investigation and Therapeutics, Lawson Health Research Institute, London.

Mark Lesk MSc, MD is a leading Canadian researcher into the effects on glaucoma of blood flow to the eye.

Dr. Joanne E. Nash is Associate Professor of Neurobiology at the University of Toronto where she began her independent research career in 2005.

Dr. Neil O’Leary’s current post-doctoral fellowship at the Ophthalmology Department at Dalhousie University has involved devising statistical methods for clinical data analysis and interpreting these for non-technically trained clinicians.

Dr. Sunil K. Parapuram was appointed an independent research associate with the department of Ophthalmology at the University of Western Ontario in 2008 and has recently been promoted as a faculty member.

Dr. Jeremy Sivak was recently appointed to the Glaucoma Research Chair at the Toronto Western Hospital Research Institute, and is Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto.

Yeni Yücel MD, PhD, a neuropathologist, is a leading multidisciplinary researcher into the effects of glaucoma on the brain.