Text Size

Our Researchers


Professor, Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences
Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology, University of Toronto

Director, Glaucoma & Nerve Protection Unit
The Keenan Research Centre, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute
St. Michael’s Hospital

Dr. Neeru GuptaNeeru Gupta MD PhD is Professor of Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences and Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology at the University of Toronto. She received her medical degree from the University of Manitoba, and doctorate degree in Experimental Pathology at the University of British Columbia. After her ophthalmology residency training at the University of Toronto, she completed a Fellowship in Ophthalmic Pathology, University of Toronto, followed by a Glaucoma Fellowship at the University of California, San Diego.

Dr. Gupta is Editor of the Vision Science Section of the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology and serves as a member of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research Panel covering studies of Ophthalmology and Vision Science. She is actively involved in resident training as Director of the Glaucoma and Nerve Protection Unit at St. Michael’s Hospital, and leads the Institute of Medical Science International Undergraduate Research Program at the University of Toronto. She is a Board Member of the Glaucoma Research Society of Canada and Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Glaucoma Society. Her research investigates visual system injury in glaucoma and strategies to prevent blindness.

International roles includes Chair, Program Committee for the Glaucoma Section of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology, Program and Research Committee Member of the American Glaucoma Society, Scientific Program Committee Member of the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology, International Review Committee Member of Asia Pacific Glaucoma Guidelines, Editorial Board Member of International Glaucoma Review and the Journal of Eye and Brain, Physician Liaison and Advisory Committee Member of the Association of International Glaucoma Patient Organizations, Glaucoma Basic Science and Clinical Course Committee of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, and Scientific Advisory Board Member of The Glaucoma Foundation. She is an elected member of the Glaucoma Research Society. Most recently, she was appointed to the Advisory Board of the International Council of Ophthalmology, the umbrella organization representing supranational societies and organizations worldwide for all subspecialties.